Issue with my setup, and I have no idea what is going on.

Mach3, grbl, ect.
Forum rules
Be Kind to other's.
No Cussing or Swearing.
Don't post anything Illegal or Obscene.
Image attachment size limit is 500 KiB.
antbarney
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 10:38 pm

Issue with my setup, and I have no idea what is going on.

Postby antbarney » Wed Mar 02, 2016 11:49 am

Hey folks,

New to the CNC Hobby :new) and am having some issues that I can't figure out. Don't know if its somewhere in my GRBL settings, How I am using PEP5, or in my machine build as its fully scratch built and its my first one so there may be issues there.

So here is my issue, If you look at this included picture, when attempting to do a Shaded grey scale I noticed that things are not lining up as they should, if you notice the Text that was in the image looks to not be show up twice offset from each other. Any ideas what could be doing that? :?:

I have gone thru and double checked my Steps per MM and have that dialed in, and movement it is repeatable. Running Nema 17 steppers on DRV8825 running 1/32 Microstepping Could that be a issue?

Image

Source image:
Image

User avatar
Picengravertoo
Full Access Moderator
Posts: 1069
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 4:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Issue with my setup, and I have no idea what is going on.

Postby Picengravertoo » Wed Mar 02, 2016 1:37 pm

We have seen that before from others. Here are two threads that may help you.

viewtopic.php?f=8&t=106&hilit=ghosting

viewtopic.php?f=14&t=54&p=304&hilit=ghosting#p304

Jeff

antbarney
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 10:38 pm

Re: Issue with my setup, and I have no idea what is going on.

Postby antbarney » Wed Mar 02, 2016 9:24 pm

Thanks for the ideas, unfortunately so far no luck.

Full breakdown of my build:
Arduino Uno (Clone).
CNC v3 Shield
6W LD from DTR
G-2 lens.
FlexMod P3 driver
Using the Spindle PWM control off the Uno to Vary the LD via the FlexMod M+ input.

Here is What I have tried so far today to get rid of the Ghosting, I redid all of my testing doing straight GRBL PWM no FRC.
1. Switched back to my A4988 Stepper Drivers running at 1/8 Micro-stepping. - Still no Joy
2. Reflashed my Uno with the Jtech Hex from here (what I was already running but figured why not make sure) - Still no Joy
3. Tried Sending the File from a Old Laptop (running Windows 7) with the latest Arduino USB drivers - Still no Joy
4. Created a new Test file using straight GRBL PWM (no FRC) - Still no Joy
5. Create another new test file with the speed all the way down at 1000mm/min - Still no joy.
6. Tried using my old 2W LD - Still no Joy

So as you can see in this Pic Still Not having much luck. So if there is any other things you can think of let me know.
Image

What I still plan on Trying once stuff gets here:
1. I have a new legit Arduino Uno V3 coming hopefully by the weekend. (My gut is telling me this is what will fix it)
2. I have some new Offical Polou DRV8825 Drivers to try.
3. Try a 3 Element Lens and another Lens that was recommended from your testing the 6w LD on the forums here.

Up for trying just about anything you can think of at this point. Will Update the post as I know more.

User avatar
Picengravertoo
Full Access Moderator
Posts: 1069
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 4:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Issue with my setup, and I have no idea what is going on.

Postby Picengravertoo » Wed Mar 02, 2016 9:51 pm

We sure don't recommend a UNO Clone. They can be real flaky. We have had real good service out of the gshield V5. Never tried a CNC v3 shield. Chinese? With the 6W, you need to move real fast. What are your grbl settings?

User avatar
Picengraver
Full Access Moderator
Posts: 270
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2014 5:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Issue with my setup, and I have no idea what is going on.

Postby Picengraver » Wed Mar 02, 2016 10:42 pm

Does it ghost if you engrave vertically (Y direction)?
John

antbarney
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 10:38 pm

Re: Issue with my setup, and I have no idea what is going on.

Postby antbarney » Wed Mar 02, 2016 10:47 pm

Current settings:
$0=30 (step pulse, usec)
$1=255 (step idle delay, msec)
$2=0 (step port invert mask:00000000)
$3=0 (dir port invert mask:00000000)
$4=0 (step enable invert, bool)
$5=0 (limit pins invert, bool)
$6=0 (probe pin invert, bool)
$10=18 (status report mask:00010010)
$11=0.005 (junction deviation, mm
$12=0.002 (arc tolerance, mm)
$13=0 (report inches, bool)
$14=1 (auto start, bool)
$20=0 (soft limits, bool)
$21=0 (hard limits, bool)
$22=0 (homing cycle, bool)
$23=0 (homing dir invert mask:00000000
$24=100.000 (homing feed, mm/min)
$25=500.000 (homing seek, mm/min)
$26=250 (homing debounce, msec)
$27=5.000 (homing pull-off, mm)
$100=52.250 (x, step/mm)
$101=50.750 (y, step/mm)
$102=200.000 (z, step/mm)
$110=5000.000 (x max rate, mm/min)
$111=5000.000 (y max rate, mm/min)
$112=2000.000 (z max rate, mm/min)
$120=1200.000 (x accel, mm/sec^2)
$121=1200.000 (y accel, mm/sec^2)
$122=150.000 (z accel, mm/sec^2)
$130=200.000 (x max travel, mm)
$131=200.000 (y max travel, mm)
$132=200.000 (z max travel, mm)

Ya, I am sure the shield is some Chinese clone as well, to allow connecting the stepper drivers. If replacing the Uno Dosen't workout I will look at getting one of the gshield's, but to me it seeming more like the PWM signal for the laser varianceis getting mucked up somehow. Its not seem to be the steppers, since even at a constant federate I am getting the ghosting, but what do I know this is my first Build and I decided to jump into the deep end :D

Also switched back to my 2W for now until I can get this figured out.

antbarney
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 10:38 pm

Re: Issue with my setup, and I have no idea what is going on.

Postby antbarney » Wed Mar 02, 2016 11:01 pm

Well all be damn, looks good going Vertical. Any idea what would cause the X axis to due that?

Image

antbarney
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 10:38 pm

Re: Issue with my setup, and I have no idea what is going on.

Postby antbarney » Thu Mar 03, 2016 12:37 am

Thanks so much for the help thus far, that got me looking in the right place I seem to have some binding or some issues with my X carriage drive system (using a belt setup) but since I am finally looking in the right place gotten it ALOT better, its not perfect yet but at least its not a entire letter off! So making progress, I am already in the works of redoing my entire X carriage anyway, so I will get this fixed up as I do that.

Image

Thanks again for all the help!

-Anthony

User avatar
Picengraver
Full Access Moderator
Posts: 270
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2014 5:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Issue with my setup, and I have no idea what is going on.

Postby Picengraver » Thu Mar 03, 2016 6:01 am

I would suggest removing the X belt and disconnect the X stepper wiring from the driver. Now you should be able to freely move the X axis manually and feel for binding, looseness, or backlash. I don't keep up with our member's Pic programs, but if you are using PicEngrave Pro 5 for your gcode files, then there is an axis alignment feature you might try to see if it helps. It is not, however, intended as a final solution to mechanical problems.
John
Attachments
Axis.jpg
Axis.jpg (15.07 KiB) Viewed 4875 times

User avatar
Picengravertoo
Full Access Moderator
Posts: 1069
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 4:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Issue with my setup, and I have no idea what is going on.

Postby Picengravertoo » Thu Mar 03, 2016 6:55 am

To achieve higher/accurate feedrates with the short raster engraving gcode movements, you need to increase your accels considerably. With our Shapeoko 2, we have it set like this which is the limit. Engraving at a 45 degree will give you smoother movement too.

$120=12000.000 (x accel, mm/sec^2)
$121=12000.000 (y accel, mm/sec^2)

I noticed your X&Y steps/mm are slightly different from each other. Should they be the same?
Jeff


Return to “CNC Controller Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron