Mach3 PEP5 settings

Topic's about PicEngrave Pro 5 or 6
Forum rules
Be Kind to other's.
No Cussing or Swearing.
Don't post anything Illegal or Obscene.
Image attachment size limit is 500 Kib.
Skotty58
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2016 6:26 pm

Re: Mach3 PEP5 settings

Postby Skotty58 » Wed Dec 14, 2016 12:52 pm

Well after trying that FRC and Extended Edge, i'll have to say "Blah" to that.. came out even worse. As you can see in the pic

Then making sure the Pixel resolution and Line resolution are the same, it comes out bad too.

Z height at 3" from the bottom of the heat sink with the smallest dot I can get. Just so you know, i make it larger in both directions when adjusting it.

So since attempting these images without Dithering they just rant doing anything except burning the wood as shown below. You indicate that my lines are over lapped, but at this point Im not sure how to overcome that. Maybe Increase the Pixel and line resolution?

Off to try another different setting.. UGGH! This is VERY frustrating.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2016-12-14 at 12.48.04 PM.jpg
Screen Shot 2016-12-14 at 12.48.04 PM.jpg (148.17 KiB) Viewed 5010 times
Screen Shot 2016-12-14 at 12.43.00 PM.jpg
Screen Shot 2016-12-14 at 12.43.00 PM.jpg (216.5 KiB) Viewed 5010 times

User avatar
Picengravertoo
Full Access Moderator
Posts: 1091
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 4:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Mach3 PEP5 settings

Postby Picengravertoo » Wed Dec 14, 2016 1:51 pm

If you don't see unburnt lines in between the burn lines, then they are either laid down exactly next to each other, or overlapping. You want the Laser's burn line the smallest and not overlapping. When the 2.8W J-Tech laser is focused properly, the burn line width is .005" by my experience, but when engraving at a 45D angle with a Pixel Resolution of .006. the Laser's .005" wide burn line will lay down next to each other when it steps over.

When you raise the Z axis up so the beam is out of focus, this is how to orient the laser's rectangular beam shape to the Left 45D engraving angle. If it's not parallel with the engraving angle, the burn lines will overlap.

Capture 45D engraving angle.JPG
Capture 45D engraving angle.JPG (16.15 KiB) Viewed 5005 times

Skotty58
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2016 6:26 pm

Re: Mach3 PEP5 settings

Postby Skotty58 » Wed Dec 14, 2016 2:11 pm

Gotcha ... i had it the other way.. Thanks again..

Skotty58
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2016 6:26 pm

Re: Mach3 PEP5 settings

Postby Skotty58 » Wed Dec 14, 2016 2:57 pm

Wow this is quite an ordeal trying to get this right. :(

There are my settings for the image thats at the top of this post.
( PicEngrave Pro 5.1.01 - for MS Windows US Version )
( Date/Time: 12-13-2016 at 14:05:15 )
( Image File: cherri )
( Image size in inches: 6w x 4.81h )
( Pixel Resolution: 0.01 inch )
( Line Spacing: 0.01 inch )
( Max. Cut Depth: -.0255 inch )
( Min. Cut Depth: 0 inch )
( 3rd Axis Safe Position: 0 inch )
( Start Position: image bottom left )
( Horizontal Axis Offset: 0 inches )
( Vertical Axis Offset: 0 inches )
( Engraving Angle: Left 45∞ )
( Spindle On/Off Enabled )
( G61/G64 Inserted )
( Inch Mode )
( X Axis Align 0 )
( Y Axis Align 0 )
G90 G64
( CV Mode Active )

From what you've been saying is that my lines are overlapping, I could see why before I rotated the beam and had the pixel resolution wrong, but now Im not sure at all about any of it. Its just not working the way your telling me it supposed too. Lot of tweaking for sure.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2016-12-14 at 2.45.14 PM.jpg
Screen Shot 2016-12-14 at 2.45.14 PM.jpg (193.58 KiB) Viewed 4999 times
Screen Shot 2016-12-14 at 2.47.05 PM.jpg
Screen Shot 2016-12-14 at 2.47.05 PM.jpg (137.2 KiB) Viewed 4999 times

User avatar
Picengravertoo
Full Access Moderator
Posts: 1091
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 4:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Mach3 PEP5 settings

Postby Picengravertoo » Wed Dec 14, 2016 3:58 pm

Picengravertoo wrote:You do understand that when the DAC is first powered up, it goes to half modulation output? You have to jog up half the range and zero the A axis there before running a gcode file with my recommended settings.


Are you doing this first? Can you see the laser powering up and down when it's running the file? Do you have the DAC's output jumper set to PWM and not analog?

Skotty58
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2016 6:26 pm

Re: Mach3 PEP5 settings

Postby Skotty58 » Wed Dec 14, 2016 4:25 pm

Ummm no I have not been jogging up. Doh!

Not sure what you mean by half the range.
Range of what? Range of the A-.0255???
The laser is powered up but the light stays pretty on much constant no flickering as I can see and I can see some slight power modulation in the beam and I do hear the relay.
Im using the PicConvert board and it is set to PWM. The DAC is on factory settings with the mode selector in Input Control Mode.

I power on the DAC and hit the reset button then it powers up, at which point here am I jogging up?

User avatar
Picengravertoo
Full Access Moderator
Posts: 1091
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 4:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Mach3 PEP5 settings

Postby Picengravertoo » Wed Dec 14, 2016 4:42 pm

When you set the steps per for the A axis in Motor Tuning at 10000, the total travel range for the DAC is A0 to A-.0255 (8bit). When you first power up the DAC, the digital Potentiometer goes to half the voltage range (2.5v). You have to jog A up at least +.0128 and zero the A axis there. It will be at 0v then. With the A0 to A-.0255 commands in the file, it will vary the PWM from 0-5v to the laser driver.

Skotty58
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2016 6:26 pm

Re: Mach3 PEP5 settings

Postby Skotty58 » Wed Dec 14, 2016 5:13 pm

Sorry to be a PITA Jeff but Im not getting this to do what you are saying. Ive done all that you said to do and nothing

Im checking the V out of the PicConvert board to the DAC and its sitting at 2.2V when I invoke M3 Jogging the A axis has no effect. I guess this is where my problem is.
I have a 3V signal going into the board at the DIR and it will vary as I jog but when I stop jogging it reverts back to the 3V. So I guess i need to know how to get this fixed. Ive changed the Dir Low back and forth and I can get the input to go High when it jogs neg but the output remains the same. Im missing something Im sure ..

User avatar
Picengravertoo
Full Access Moderator
Posts: 1091
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 4:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Mach3 PEP5 settings

Postby Picengravertoo » Wed Dec 14, 2016 5:51 pm

The dir pin will only go either low or high depending on which direction your jogging. It will not vary. 3v seems low for the PP port as it should be closer to 5v. Are you using a laptop, or a desktop PC? Did you change the dir pin # because of the conflict you had with the spindle's pin 1?

Do you have the step & dir pulse set to 3 in the motor tuning?

Skotty58
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2016 6:26 pm

Re: Mach3 PEP5 settings

Postby Skotty58 » Wed Dec 14, 2016 6:06 pm

Im on a PC and I think I found the issue. The ground input to the DAC is not working correctly. I'll fix that and let you know.

In regards to spindle pin 1: how does that connect to the DAC?

Thanks so much for your help and patience


Return to “PicEngrave Pro 5 or 6”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron